Home » Chakras – A Beginners Guide

Chakras – A Beginners Guide

How often do we hear our people say “I’m cleansing my Chakras?” or yoga teachers say “Visualise your Root Chakra blossoming”, “Draw energy in through Crown Chakra”. As a newbie, it can really throw you off mid-practise.

To create harmony between the body, the mind & the spirit we open & balance our Chakras. This allows energy to flow freely through each one, from Root to Crown.

7 Chakras of the Subtle Body
Chakras of the Subtle Body

What are Chakras?

Chakras, pronounced ch-ak-ra translates to ‘wheel’ in Sanskrit & are bundles of energy which circulate at 7 points throughout the length of the spinal column. These bundles of energy are untouchable, yet felt & experienced by the body & the mind.

Whilst these energy centres are said to be a concept, they are connected to the physical body. Our Chakras are located in the same place as the physical body’s nerve meeting points. Where the Chakras are located in the subtle body, the nervous system has thousands of nerve endings which cross paths & create energy. Therefore, Chakras are a visual representation of the invisible energy that circulates our aura.

Download my FREE “Chakra Quiz” below & see which of your Chakras need your focus.

The Chakra Alignment
Chakras - Root Chakra
Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Located at the base of the spine, this Chakra represents safety & stability, setting a foundation in our life which makes us feel secure. This Chakra gives us the feeling of being grounded & controls our survival mode.

Blocked: Anxious, insecure, fearful, 

Balanced: Happy to be alive, positive, secure in who we are

Over-Active: Aggressive, power hungry, defensive, greedy

Yoga Pose: Warrior 1 (Virabhadrasana 1)

6 Ways to Balance Your Root Chakra

Chakras - Sacral Chakra
Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Found in the sacrum, this Chakra represents our reproductive organs & everything that comes with fertility. It governs how we relate to our emotions & the emotions of others. This Chakra controls our sense of abundance, wellbeing, pleasure & sexuality. In addition, the Sacral Chakra drives our passion.

Blocked: Low libido, no creativity, isolated

Balanced: Open, passionate, healthy sex drive, imaginative, fertile

Over-Active: Manipulative, sex hungry, over emotional, controlling

Yoga Pose: Bound Angle Pose (Baddha Konasana)

6 Ways to Balance Your Sacral Chakra

Chakras - Solar Plexus Chakra
Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

This Chakra is located at the diaphragm & is focused around living your true self. Knowing & owning who we are with no shame in showing our true self. This Chakra controls self-worth, self-confidence & self-esteem.

Blocked: Low self-esteem, powerless, inferior

Balanced: Confident, in control, drive & determination

Over-Active: Domineering, perfectionist

Yoga Pose: Boat Pose (Nirvasana)

6 Ways to Balance Your Solar Plexus Chakra

Chakras - Heart Chakra
Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The Heart or Anahata Chakra is located at the heart centre. This Chakra is known as the bridge between the lower part of the body (material) & the upper part of the body (the spiritual). As the name suggests, this Chakra is connected to our ability to love. Our ability to feel compassionate, empathetic alongside inner peace. This Chakra also relates to our ability to open up & share our feelings.

Blocked: Lack of empathy, bitter, trust issues

Balanced: Peaceful, compassionate, open to share, welcoming

Over-Active: Jealous, co-dependent, give too much

Yoga Pose: Camel pose (Ustrasana)

6 Ways to Balance Your Heart Chakra

Chakras - Throat Chakra
Throat Chakra (Visudhi)

Throat Chakra (Visudhi)

Located at our voice box, the throat Chakra is the energy centre that plays an essential role in speaking our truth & understanding or comprehending the words of others. Linked with Heart (Anahata), the throat Chakra governs our ability to express emotion. In addition, the vibrations of the throat have the ability to calm the body & mind and is therefore a natural tool for survival.

Blocked: Misunderstood, can’t listen, secretive, emotionally explosive

Balanced: Confident, expressive, diplomatic

Over-Active: Opinionated, loud, harsh, critical

Yoga Pose: Fish Pose (Matsyasana)

6 Ways to Balance Your Throat Chakra

Chakras - Third Eye Chakra
Third Eye (Ajna)

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The third eye Chakra is located in-between the eyebrow centre. It represents the transcendence from duality – duality of “I” as a separate personality to the rest of the world “The I-consciousness”. Where the yogi transcends from the throat Chakra to third eye Chakra, she moves from I-consciousness to super-consciousness. This is related to the “supreme element” which are the five elements in their purest form. This Chakra controls your intuition, imagination & wisdom.

Blocked: Poor focus, poor judgement, no imagination

Balanced: Imaginative, intuitive, clear thoughts

Over-Active: Nightmares, hallucinations, obsessions

Yoga Pose: Child’s Pose (Balasana)

6 Ways to Balance Your Third Eye Chakra

Chakras - Crown Chakra
Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Our 7th Chakra, the crown is located above our head. This Chakra controls your perspective of your inner & outer beauty alongside your spiritual connection. It gives us access to higher states of consciousness as we open up to what is beyond. It’s function is consciousness & therefore, it’s responsible for connecting us with the universe.

Blocked: Depression, learning difficulties, brain fog

Balanced: Strong faith, universal love, understanding

Over-Active: Judgemental, spiritual addiction, ungrounded

Yoga Pose: Headstand (Shirshasana)

6 Ways to Balance Your Crown Chakra

Now that you understand the behaviour characteristics of the 7 Chakras, learn 6 Ways to Balance Each Chakra.

Enjoy your self-growth!

Nicola Carmonez Signature

Leave a Reply